St Mary's - Belford
St Mary’s Belford is in the centre of Belford village, it is on the North Bank of the village and therefore visible from much of the surrounding countryside. There has been a place of worship here from at least the 12th century, and there is some Norman stonework still visible in the Chancel arch. The current building was largely redesigned by the Newcastle architect, John Dobson, between 1826 and 1829, with some earlier elements retained. There are a number of memorial stained glass windows in the church,, including windows by C E Kempe ( 1837-1907) a distinguished designer, in the East window and chancel south window. There is a mortuary building in the extensive churchyard.
Other notable features in the church include a Royal Coat of Arms believed to have been presented after the Jacobite uprising by the Smart family of West Hall, supporters of the Protestant succession, a bronze memorial to Dr Byers, as well loved local doctor, and three stained glass windows in the porch, in memory of the wife, daughter and sister-in-law of Canon Robertson who was the vicar here from 1879 until his death in 1921. The Book of Remembrance was presented in 1921 by an American, James Newbiggin Jarvie, in memory of his mother, Isabella Newbiggin, who was born in Belford in 1810.
St Mary’s is a light and airy church, with a welcoming atmosphere. Visitors are encouraged to visit the Gallery upstairs on the north side of the church where there are many historical records and displays. The Gallery is used by several local and church groups, and is a significant asset for the church. There is a particular focus on the church’s calling to act for social justice, with St Marys supporting both oval and global projects.
| Grade Listing: | Grade II |
|---|---|
| Century / Year: | 12th Century |
| Opening Hours: | Open all hours |
Churchyard
Wheelchair Access (Full)
Wheelchair Access (Partial)
Toilet
Accessible Toilet
Public Transport
Ramp
For the latest service times, please visit: A Church Near You website